Tank and Big Mama

“Hello, my name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.”   
Inigo-Montoya

What do Kramer, Moose, Capi, H2O, Torch, Lurch, Little Gray, Cub, Karch, YY, Kit Kat, T.O., and Beast have in common? One might be led to believe that this is the starting line-up of a pee wee Pop Warner team, or possibly a list of lesser known characters from Sandlot or Little Giants. But, in actuality, they are just a small sampling of the names I have given to some of my middle schoolers over the years. Sometimes I pick the nickname, sometimes they pick the nickname, sometimes their given name is just so dang cool that no nickname is sufficient! I love this particular part of my relationship with our students because (I hope) they feel loved, they feel special, they feel seen, they feel known.

Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary defines the word “name” as a “word or phrase that constitutes the distinctive designation of a person or thing.” Names are very important. They identify us; they are who we are known by; they are what we respond to; and in some cases, because of a name, we are given access and authority. The first word that most of us were taught to write was our name. It is that important!

I’ve been intrigued lately by the multitude of Names of God which has led me to a study of the names God calls us! WE HAVE NICKNAMES! How cool is that??

Let’s take a peek at the list…

Chosen“Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience.” (Colossians 3:12)

Beloved“The beloved of the Lord dwells in safety.” (Deuteronomy 33:12)

Child“See what kind of love the Father has given to us, that we should be called children of God; and so we are.” (1 John 3:1)

Friend“… but I have called you friends…”(John 15:15)

(His) Workmanship“For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.” (Ephesians 2:10). Another translation here is Masterpiece! (work of art!)

Treasured possession“The Lord your God has chosen you to be a people for His treasured possession, out of all the peoples who are on the face of the earth.” (Deuteronomy 7:6)

Sons and Daughters“And I will be a Father to you, and you shall be sons and daughters to Me, says the Lord Almighty.” (2 Corinthians 6:18)

Heirs “And if children, then heirs—heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ, provided we suffer with Him in order that we may also be glorified with Him.” (Romans 8:17)

Holy and Blameless” Even as He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and blameless before Him.” (Ephesians 1:4)

the Apple of His eye“Keep me as the apple of Your eye; hide me in the shadow of Your wings.” (Psalm 17:8)

Blessed. “Blessed is the one You choose and bring near, to dwell in Your courts!” (Psalm 65:4)

What amazes and delights me to my core is that God always knows which name to call me in every circumstance!! (I’ll bet He even has middle names for me when I’m being a stinker!) He KNOWS ME! HE KNOWS YOU!

Some days my God given “nickname” defines me. Some days it encourages me. Some days it reflects my heart’s desires. Some days it is a call to obedience. Some days it is simply a reminder of Whom I belong to.

In one the of the best movies of all time (this is a non-negotiable!), The Princess Bride, Inigo Montoya’s name consistently represents pride and valor. It is his badge of honor. He LEADS with that… every time he meets an adversary!

My goal is to know my name (or names) and to LEAD with that when I’m tempted to forget the One who named me!!

Hmmm…

What is your favorite name God calls you?

By what nickname is God calling you today?

P.S. In case you’re wondering… Tank and Big mama are our future grandparent names 🙂

Leave a comment